We Are In

An ocean pounding at the door,
“Let me in! Let me in!”
“I want to drown your voice and soul,”
“In the depths of my cold endless floor.”

“I wish to fill your lungs with my poison,”
“To weigh your body to the ground.”

“I wish to stab your heart with waves,”
“Unloving and frozen.”

Rapping and cackling at the window,
The darkness cloaks the glass and says,
“Let me in! Let me in!”
“I’d love to come in my friend!”

“I’d eat and swallow your heart whole,”
“I’d fill your bones with the cold of night!”
“Let me in! Let me in!”

“I’m only the darkness of a child’s fright.”

In the closet the rock tumbles and shakes,
“Let me in! Let me in!”

“I want to be where the floor is neat!”
“Where clarity fills the sheets.”

“I wish to roll and break the glass around,”
“Only one step and, Whoops!”

“Let me in! Let me in!”
“I am only the scrapes on a child’s knees.”

The door, the window, and the closet scream,
“Let us in! Let us in! We only wish to come in!”
“We wish to cloud, to pull, and tug at your throat,”
“To scream, and shriek, and make you cry.”

“Let us in! Let us in! We only wish to see you!”
“To see you break and weep in sorrow,”

“To run and hide in fear,”
“Our hearts desire all the terror you can sow!”

Suddenly out steps a flashlight dull and rusted,
Its face flickering and busted.

“I am in. I am in. I never wanted in.”
“I shine light to the fears that never knocked.”

“My light shines on those who never rang,”
“The ones who never greeted,”
“The ones who crept in the night.”
“Don’t you see my dear?
Your fear was always here.”

January 2014

Got anything to say?

